Thursday, August 6, 2015

Book Review: Tilly's Troubles by JR McKinlay

Tilly's Troubles is a whimsical story about Tilly, a young girl who lives with her great-aunt. The Doctor and the Reverend are friends of her aunt's and they look out for Tilly when her aunt passes away. Meanwhile, Tilly travels to Secundas Terra, a parallel world to Earth in her dreams and visits with her friend, Amber. She appears as a ghost girl on Secundas Terra, but goes to school with Amber. It is because of this that she discovers she is a witch.
Because of an accidental spell that Amber casts, Tilly must flee for her life and travels to Secundas Terra in actuality. There she has many adventures trying to escape from forces of evil that are hunting her. I don't want to give too much away, but she meets many new and interesting people. Her familiar Abeo travels with her along Amber and we still have the Doctor and the Reverend. All of the action takes place in one day, although there are flashbacks to previous days.
I should warn you that this is book one in a series. The author gives credit to the Harry Potter books and there are certainly elements of Harry's personality in Tilly. This is a great book for teens and adults who like whimsical storytelling. The book could use an editor, but the grammar issues do not interfere with the flow of the story. In all I found this an interesting read, perfect for fans of JK Rowling.

Link to Amazon